China has a long land border and has 14 neighboring countries in total. Now let us check one by one.

china Bordering Countries

Russia- Russia is the largest country in the world geographically covering one eighth of the total land mass of the world. It has a total population of 143 million people. Once a communist country, Russia has undergone political reform and is now embracing democratic reforms. The Russian Federation is made up of 21 autonomous republics and has adopted a 3 branch government system much like the United States. Its capital city is Moscow.

India– India is the second most populous country in the world after China with 1.2 billion people. It is the seventh largest country by area and its government is a democracy. The government of India has three branches: executive, legislature and judiciary. Its capital city is New Delhi and the country is divided into 28 states and seven union territories.

Kazakhstan– Kazakhstan is the largest landlocked territory in the world and the ninth largest country by area. It is divided into 14 provinces each with their own governor. Its capital is Astana and the form of government used is a republic. The country has a population of 16.6 million people.

Mongolia– Not to be mistaken for Inner Mongolia, the autonomous province within China, Outer Mongolia or Mongolia is a sovereign state with no direct relations to China. Mongolia has a parliamentary government and 21 provinces. The capital of the country is Ulaanbaatar and China shares the Gobi desert at its border. The country has a population of 2.8 million people.

Pakistan– Pakistan is a federal parliamentary republic, having four provinces and four federal republics. The country has a total population of 176 million people and its capital is Islamabad. Pakistan and India have fought two wars, one in 1947, the other in 1965, over disputed land.

Burma – Burma has been ruled by a military junta but has recently begun to hold democratic elections. It has been long viewed as a pariah state in the international community for its poor human rights policies. The country has a population of 48 million and Nay Pyi Taw is its capital city.

Afghanistan– Afghanistan has 34 provinces and is an Islamic Republic. The country has a population of 35 million people and has been under intense media scrutiny because of the US led war against the Taliban. The country has a total area slightly smaller than that of Texas. Its capital, Kabul, has over 1.7 million inhabitants.

Vietnam – With a population of 87 million people, the Socialist Republic of Vietnam borders the Guangxi and Yunnan provinces of China. Its capital city is Hanoi and the country has 58 provinces as well as 5 municipalities.

Laos– Laos has 16 provinces and its capital city is Vientiane. It has a population of 6.2 million people and the current form of government is communism. It is a landlocked, mountainous country with vast amounts of tropical forests. The country borders China’s Yunnan province and the geography of Laos is mostly plateau and mountainous ranges.

Kyrgyzstan – Kyrgyzstan became an independent state after the fall of the Soviet Union in 1991. The country has a population of 5.4 million people and its capital city is Bishkek. The country is landlocked and the official government is that of a republic.

Nepal-Nepal has a population of 30 million people and is a democratic republic. Its capital city is Kathmandu. It geographic territory is slightly larger than the state of Arkansas and the country is landlocked from any navigable waters.

Tajikistan– Tajikistan has a population of 7.9 million people and its capital city is Dushanbe. It is a landlocked country known for its mountainous terrain. The form of government in this country is a republic and the country has four provinces. From 1992 to 1997, the country was embroiled in a devastating civil war that significantly hampered its economy.

North Korea– Known as the Democratic Peoples’ Republic of Korea or DPKR, North Korea is a communist dictatorship. It has 9 provinces and a total population of 24 million people. North Korea borders the Liaoning province in China.

Bhutan– Bhutan is a landlocked country tucked away in the Eastern Himalayas and is officially a kingdom with a population of 738,000 people. It is a constitutional monarchy that has transitioned from an absolute monarchy. The Bhutanese economy is agrarian and around 31% of its people live in poverty.